October Sephora Play

This month I finally achieved a dream of mine, and was able to get off the waitlist and get a subscription to Sephora Play. For those of you who don’t know Sephora Play is a $10 monthly subscription bag from Sephora. You receive 4-5 mini size products, as well as a perfume sample each month for only $10. There is a waitlist and they will email you when a spot opens, from what I have heard and experienced it can take anywhere from 2-4 weeks to get your email invitation. Make sure to watch your email because you only have a small amount of time to accept the subscription before your spot is given away. I really enjoy this box because all the products are of course, sold at Sephora. Let’s jump on in and see what I received.

img_5432

The first thing I noticed in the box was the Madam CJ Walker’s coconut oil. It is suppose to be nourishing and moisturizing for your hair. I have never tried coconut oil in my hair before but I did try this out and I really enjoyed it. It gave my hair a nice shine, and I love the scent of it. It really just made my hair seem extra clean. You only have to use a small amount so I think this size of a bottle will really last me a good amount of time. I probably won’t use it everyday because I think it can definitely make my hair oily if I use it too much. You can purchase 0.5 oz of this at Sephora for $14. I will most likely repurchase if I continue to get the same results.

img_5427

The next product I pulled out of the box was a Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick in the shade “Driver’s Seat”. I think this is an awesome shade for fall, and the swatch looks really pretty. It is like a dark, nude mauve color. I have seen a lot about these liquid lipsticks so I am excited to try it out and see how well it wears. These liquid lipsticks retail for $24 full size at Sephora.

img_5430

I also received the Skin Dew setting spray by Farmacy. I have tried Farmacy face masks in the past and I really enjoyed them and thought they were extremely moisturizing so I am excited to try out this setting spray. This says it should be hydrating but I haven’t tried it out yet, I am hoping it hydrates my skin and helps my makeup be longlasting. This retails for $44 at Sephora, full size.

img_5428

The next lip product I grabbed is the Estee Lauder Flash Photo Gloss. I have never heard of this product before but from what I have read it is a gloss to put over a lip color and it will make your teeth look whiter in photos. It has an iridescent blue tint to the gloss. From just swatching the gloss I do feel like it seems pretty thick to me. I am definitely interested in trying this out and seeing if I notice a change in my teeth. I do think it is a very cool idea for a product though. This full sized product retails at Sephora for $20.

img_5431

The final product I received in this bag was Night Serum from the Drunk Elephant. I tried this out last night and I thought my skin looked and felt awesome. My face looked brighter in the morning when I woke up, so I am definitely interested in trying this product out some more. I have heard good things about this brand and this is the first product I am actually trying out from them. This full size product costs $90 so I will have to be really impressed to actually repurchase this item.

img_5429

The bag also came with a small sample of the Derek Lam 10 Crosby perfume in the scent Silent Street, but honestly every bag coming with a perfume sample is not that much of a big deal to me because I have so many perfume samples already, this will just get tossed in with the others. Overall for $10 I do think this bag was pretty cool, I will receive another bag next month and really decide if this subscription is worth it. Thank you all for reading, until next time.

One thought on “October Sephora Play

Leave a comment